< Go back

Palacio de los Condes de Miravalle

Palacio de los Condes de Miravalle
  • Basilica

The Earls of Miravalle, who own this residence, also owned the mines located near Camino Real in Nueva Galicia. After the War of Independence, the home was sold and occupied by the Ateneo Mexicano. Its role in the post-revolutionary and inter-war periods is also evident in the mural to the Holocaust, by Manuel Rodríguez Lozano, which was commissioned by the person who owned the residence in 1933, Francisco Iturbe. It is now home to the Hotel Downtown, run by the Habita Group. The building also serves as an exhibit hall for works of Mexican design. It also houses the Azul Histórico and Padrinos restaurants. Source: www.guiadelcentrohistorico.mx